Match Report 4 October 2015

Last weekend saw a mixture of League and cup games as well as North Riding County Football Association Sunday Challenge Cup first round matches.  In the Challenge Cup the league was represented by seven teams but of these two fixtures were league affairs when Eaglescliffe F.C division one entertained Thornaby Sports & Leisure from division two but it was the visitors who recorded an astonishing 9-1 victory with two goals each for Jack Walton, Michael Tye, Scott Turnbull and one goal apiece for Dale McElvaney, Matthew May and Ben Simons, Stuart Woodall scored the consolation goal for Eaglescliffe F.C.  The other all league clash was between division one sides St Marys College and Layfield Arms and it was the visitors who emerged winners by the odd goal in nine.  Two goals from Benjamin Kerry and one each from Jamie Taylor, Shaun Lightfoot and Bradley Murray secured the victory.  For the home side Chris Taylor scored twice plus one each from Josh O’Donoghue and Chris Lynch.  Elsewhere the leagues other representatives all won through JFC United defeated Cleveland Hotel 6-2 with goals from Dimitri Aime Kehi with a hat-trick and one goal each for Famara Jatta, Florin Craciun and Mohammed Sallieu Bah.  Thornaby Roundel enjoyed a 4-2 win away to Lakes United with star man Tommy Delmer netting a hat-trick and Jordan Boyes netted the other whilst Thornaby Village were 2-1 winners away to Riverside F.C with goals from Glenn Corkain and Adam Holland.

Only one game was possible in Division One where Billingham The Kings entertained Stockton Five Alls and both sides had to settle for a share of the points in 1-1 draw, Danny Docherty scoring for Billingham The Kings and Danny Hughes netted for Stockton Five Alls.

In the Premier Division Portrack returned to winning ways with a convincing 6-1 win against George & Dragon (Yarm), it was not all plain sailing as Daniel Titchner gave the George an early lead but four goals from man of the match Max Craggs turned the tables in Portrack’s favour, the other two goals scored by Ian Thompson.  South Bank were away to Norton WMC and ended with a comprehensive 10-1 win with a hat-trick for Anthony Barnes, two goals each from Darren Morrison and Josh Keogh plus a goal each from Jamie Bellamy, Michael Duff and Sean Harland, Wayne Simpson scored for Norton.

In Division Two Jolly Farmers had a 5-2 win against Norton Unicorn with goals from Connor Hardman, Jake Walker, Lee Hoggarth and two from Matthew Baike-Ghazvini, Jamie Cook and Michael Alderson scored for Norton Unicorn.  Billingham FC were 5-1 winners away to Nifco with two goals for Stephen Brown and one each for Andrew Brown, Gareth Brown and Jack Bradburn, Ricky Sharp scoring for Nifco.  PH FC Elmtree entertained The Oxbridge and ran out 5-3 with two goals each from Ashley Lavan, John James and one for Joseph Carter.

In the Stephen Wells Memorial Trophy First Round Billingham Cowpen Club entertained Billingham The Merlin in a local derby and it was the visitors who sneaked home by the only goal scored by Ashley Bonar.  Billingham The White House entertained Storytellers United but proved to be too strong for their opponents and ran 6-0 winners with two goals apiece for James McLeod and Steven Pickard plus a goal each from Lee Butterworth and Lee Johnson.  Fairfield Sports & Social Club entertained Thornaby Aerodrome Club and shared nine goals finally winning by the odd goal in extra time. Daniel Horsley scored a hat-trick for Fairfield Sports & Social Club plus a goal each for Kieran Lamb and Matthew Dixon, for Thornaby Aerodrome Club Aaron Leonard score twice plus one each from John Webb and Terry Jones.  Norton Red Lion entertained Coulby Newham but proved to be too strong for their lower division opponents and ran out 7-2 winners with four goals from Ricky Dull plus a goal each for Charlie Inman, Matthew Watson and Ryan Watson for Coulby Newham Andrew Geddes scored both the goals.  The final fixture saw Village Park Rangers entertain The Alls Bishopsgarth and ran out 2-0 winners with goals from Andy Harris and David Wilkinson.